Strawberry Fields/Penny Lane 45 by The Beatles

Strawberry Fields

“Strawberry Fields Forever/Penny Lane” was one of the biggest two-sided hits of the Beatles career. Released in early 1967, “Penny Lane” spent one week at number one on the BILLBOARD MAGAZINE Pop Singles Chart and “Strawberry Fields Forever” peaked at number eight.

“Penny Lane” was never one of my favorite Beatles songs but “Strawberry Fields Forever” remains near the top of my Beatles list. It was a weird and brilliant piece of psychedelic rock. It was almost as if it had been recorded under water.

The Beatles would produce a number of experiemental tracks but few as good as “Strawberry Fields Foever.” Has it really been 45 years?

One Response to Strawberry Fields/Penny Lane 45 by The Beatles

  1. This was and remains (for me) the greatest single of the decade of the 60’s. When I heard SSF, I immediately decided that rules no longer applied to me and that I would think for myself in all things. If I could only listen to one Beatles recording, SSF would be my choice.

Leave a Reply

