I Want You, I Need You, I Love You 45 by Elvis Presley

“I Want You, I Need You, I Love You” is one of the more obscure number one hits by Elvis Presley. Tucked in between “Hound Dog” and “Heartbreak Hotel,” it is many times overlooked.

There were four BILLBOARD MAGAZINE Singles charts at the time. It reached number three on the Top 100, number three on the Most Played In Jukeboxes Chart, and number six on the Most Played By Disc Jockeys Chart. But the single did sell and sell and sell. and on July 28, 1956, it reached the top of the Best Sellers In Stores Chart where it remained for seven days.

After “Heartbreak Hotel” made him a huge star, Elvis had little time for recording as he was constantly on the road. He flew into Nashville for a one day recording session but couldn’t get “I Want You, I Need You, I Love You” right and left after close to 20 takes. The label spliced two different takes today and had a hit song.

The flip side was a cover of the Arthur Crudup song “My Baby Left Me,” which I have always preferred. It reached number 31 on the Top 100 Chart during the summer of 56.

Leave a Reply

